

Alamance County Board of Commissioners ACTION ITEM AGENDA ITEM

MEETING DATE: 1/21/2025

DATE SUBMITTED: 12/30/2024

FROM: Matthew Hoagland

DEPT: Planning

AGENDA TITLE: Planning Board Member Appointment

TO: Alamance County Board of Commissioners

ISSUE/ACTION REQUESTED:

Consideration of an individual to appoint to the Planning Board of these 6 applicants who are currently eligible, including Townships represented: Natalie Thacker (Graham), Jeffrey Stevens (Melville), Brandon Martin (Boone Station), Anthony Pierce (Melville), John "Mac" Jordan, Jr. (Thompson) and Max Morgan (Melville). There is only one vacancy to be filled.

BACKGROUND/PURPOSE OF REQUEST:

One vacancy remains after Planning Board appointments were made during the December 16, 2024 meeting due to one appointee turning down their appointment after the fact. Planning Board members serve three-year terms and may not serve more than two consecutive terms. This appointee's term will expire on December 31, 2027. UDO Article 2, Section 2.1.2 requires that no more than two Planning Board members represent a single township.

Current Planning Board members and their townships are as follows:

- 1. Rodney Cheek Newlin Township
- 2. Lee Isley Patterson Township
- 3. Amie Perkins Haw River Township
- 4. Henry Vines, Jr. Patterson Township
- 5. Ernest "Smoky" Bare Morton Township
- 6. Stephen Dodson Pleasant Grove Township
- 7. Henry Chandler Faucette Township
- 8. Richard "Tom" King Melville Township

RECOMMENDATION:

Fill one vacancy from the five eligible applicants.

ATTACHMENTS: Planning Board applicants as of January 2025